Inviting members

You turn a private folder into a shared workspace by inviting other users as ‘members’ – you yourself are the first member and owner of the workspace.

•      Select  File    Access    Invite Member  in the top menu bar to trigger this action.

For action details see 4.1.1 Creating shared workspaces. By inviting additional mem­bers to a shared workspace, you enlarge the group of people who may access the work­space and the objects it contains. Before you turn a private folder into a shared workspace, please read 4.1 Creating and managing shared workspaces; section 4.2 Access rights and roles explains how to modify the access rights of the mem­bers in a shared workspace.

A private folder, a shared workspace or a folder or discussion forum within a workspace be­come a public workspace by selecting  File    Access    Public Access  (by default only allowed for man­agers). This feature may have been disabled altogether by your BSCW administrator for secu­rity reasons.

You may specify which actions are possible for anonymous access in a public workspace. This gives you extended access control. As a default, every user is authorized to read all docu­ments in a public folder. All published objects are listed in the public space of the BSCW ser­ver. This public space, which is a community folder named ‘public’, may be accessed by se­lect­ing  GoTo    Public Space  in the top menu or by clicking the community icon in the in­stant access bar my communities.

The actions described above are also offered in the action menus of folder or discussion fo­rum en­tries (action  Access    Invite Member  and action  Access    Public Access ).

If you plan to invite a large number of users to a workspace, consider adding a community to the workspace. Communities can accommodate large numbers of members and offer access to the community workspace without loss of performance.